The Seven Running Horses: A Symbol of Auspiciousness in Sanatan Dharma

In the realm of Sanatan Dharma, symbolism holds profound significance, weaving a rich tapestry of meaning and belief. Among the many auspicious symbols revered in Hindu tradition, the image of seven running horses stands out, embodying a confluence of power, prosperity, and spiritual awakening.

The Seven Horses of Surya: A Divine Chariot

The concept of seven running horses is deeply rooted in the mythology of Surya, the revered sun god in Sanatan Dharma. Surya’s chariot is drawn by seven majestic steeds, each representing a distinct aspect of the sun’s radiant energy. These horses symbolize the seven days of the week, the seven colors of the rainbow, and the seven chakras, the energy centers of the human body.

Auspiciousness of Seven Running Horses in Hindu Homes

The image of seven running horses has long been considered an auspicious symbol in Hindu households. Keeping a painting of seven running horses at home is believed to bring a multitude of blessings, including:

  • Prosperity and Wealth: The horses’ vitality and energy are associated with financial abundance and material success.
  • Power and Success: The horses’ swiftness and strength symbolize the ability to overcome obstacles and achieve one’s goals.
  • Spiritual Growth: The horses’ connection to Surya, the sun god, represents spiritual enlightenment and the pursuit of self-knowledge.

Placement of Seven Running Horses Painting

To maximize the auspicious benefits of a seven running horses painting, it is recommended to place it in the north or east direction of the home. These directions are associated with positive energies and are considered ideal for attracting prosperity, success, and spiritual growth.

Significance of Colors in Seven Running Horses Painting

The colors used in a seven running horses painting also hold symbolic significance. Each horse is often depicted in a different color, representing the seven chakras and their associated qualities:

  • Red: Muladhara Chakra, representing stability and grounding.
  • Orange: Svadhisthana Chakra, representing creativity and emotional well-being.
  • Yellow: Manipura Chakra, representing personal power and self-esteem.
  • Green: Anahata Chakra, representing love, compassion, and healing.
  • Blue: Vishuddha Chakra, representing communication, clarity, and self-expression.
  • Indigo: Ajna Chakra, representing intuition, wisdom, and inner guidance.
  • Violet: Sahasrara Chakra, representing spiritual enlightenment and connection to the divine.


The image of seven running horses serves as a powerful symbol of auspiciousness and spiritual awakening in Sanatan Dharma. Keeping a painting of seven running horses at home is believed to attract prosperity, success, and spiritual growth, while also reminding us of the interconnectedness of all aspects of life.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *