The 27 Nakshatras Unveiled: Characteristics, Deities, and Symbolism

In the intricate tapestry of Sanatana Dharma, commonly referred to as Hinduism, the concept of Nakshatras holds a place of profound significance. These lunar constellations form the celestial map upon which the cosmic interplay of energies and influences unfolds. Understanding Nakshatras offers a pathway to deciphering deeper aspects of our existence, personalities, and life journeys.

What are Nakshatras?

The Sanskrit term “Nakshatra” can be broken down into “Naksha” (map) and “Tara” (star). They represent specific divisions of the ecliptic (the apparent path of the Sun across the sky). The Moon, as it orbits the Earth, traverses through these celestial segments. Each Nakshatra corresponds to a prominent star or a distinct group of stars (asterisms).

Ancient Hindu astronomical wisdom identifies 27 primary Nakshatras. The Moon spends roughly a day in each Nakshatra during its monthly cycle.

How Nakshatras Influence Us

Within the Vedic astrological framework, Nakshatras exert a profound influence on various facets of human life. The Nakshatra in which the Moon is positioned at the time of an individual’s birth becomes their Janma Nakshatra (birth star). This birth star, alongside other planetary placements, shapes intrinsic personality traits, tendencies, strengths, weaknesses, and major life patterns.

Understanding the attributes of your birth Nakshatra provides valuable self-awareness. It helps illuminate your innate nature, compatibility with others, potential career paths, health, spirituality, and karmic tendencies you might carry from past lives.

Nakshatras in Vedic Astrology

Vedic astrology, known as Jyotish, draws heavily upon the Nakshatras for its intricate system of predictions, timing of events, and remedial measures. Here’s an overview of the 27 Nakshatras, their basic attributes, and symbolism:

1. Ashwini

  • Ruling Planet: Ketu (South Node of the Moon)
  • Symbol: Horse’s Head
  • Deity: The Ashwini Kumaras (Twin Horsemen, physicians of the gods)
  • Attributes: Swiftness, healing, initiatory energy, impulsiveness

Click here to Read more about Ashwini Nakshatra

2. Bharani

  • Ruling Planet: Venus (Shukra)
  • Symbol: Yoni (female reproductive organ)
  • Deity: Yama (god of death and Dharma)
  • Attributes: Creation, destruction, bearing burdens, restraint, purification

3. Krittika

  • Ruling Planet: Sun (Surya)
  • Symbol: Knife or Flame
  • Deity: Agni (god of fire)
  • Attributes: Power, cutting through, fiery nature, purification, transformation

4. Rohini

  • Ruling Planet: Moon (Chandra)
  • Symbol: Cart or Chariot
  • Deity: Brahma (the Creator)
  • Attributes: Fertility, growth, beauty, groundedness, material comfort

5. Mrigashirsha

  • Ruling Planet: Mars (Mangala)
  • Symbol: Deer’s Head
  • Deity: Soma (Moon god, associated with elixir of life)
  • Attributes: Search, seeking, gentleness, changeability, curiosity

6. Ardra

  • Ruling Planet: Rahu (North Node of the Moon)
  • Symbol: Teardrop
  • Deity: Rudra (fierce form of Shiva)
  • Attributes: Storms, change, effort, mental brilliance, destructiveness

7. Punarvasu

  • Ruling Planet: Jupiter (Guru)
  • Symbol: Quiver of Arrows
  • Deity: Aditi (mother of the gods)
  • Attributes: Renewal, return, expansiveness, abundance, generosity

8. Pushya

  • Ruling Planet: Saturn (Shani)
  • Symbol: Cow’s Udder
  • Deity: Brihaspati (teacher of the gods)
  • Attributes: Nourishment, protection, patience, discipline, tradition

9. Ashlesha

  • Ruling Planet: Mercury (Budha)
  • Symbol: Coiled Serpent
  • Deity: Nagas (serpent deities)
  • Attributes: Clinging, hypnotic, transformative, mystical, potential for malice

10. Magha

  • Ruling Planet: Ketu (South Node of the Moon)
  • Symbol: Royal Throne
  • Deity: Pitris (ancestors)
  • Attributes: Connection to the past, royalty, authority, ambition

11. Purva Phalguni

  • Ruling Planet: Venus (Shukra)
  • Symbol: Hammock or Front Legs of a Bed
  • Deity: Bhaga (god of enjoyment and prosperity)
  • Attributes: Creativity, relaxation, playfulness, potential for laziness

Absolutely, here’s the continuation of the article:

12. Uttara Phalguni

  • Ruling Planet: Sun (Surya)
  • Symbol: Back Legs of a Bed
  • Deity: Aryaman (god of patronage and nobility)
  • Attributes: Support, patronage, marriage, nobility, social connections

13. Hasta

  • Ruling Planet: Moon (Chandra)
  • Symbol: Hand or Fist
  • Deity: Savitar (solar deity connected to hands)
  • Attributes: Skill, dexterity, cleverness, playfulness, potential for trickery

14. Chitra

  • Ruling Planet: Mars (Mangala)
  • Symbol: Bright Jewel
  • Deity: Tvastar or Vishwakarma (divine architect)
  • Attributes: Illusion, visual beauty, artistic skill, creation of forms

15. Swati

  • Ruling Planet: Rahu (North Node of the Moon)
  • Symbol: Young Plant or Blade of Grass Swayed by the Wind
  • Deity: Vayu (god of wind)
  • Attributes: Scattered, independent, resilience, adaptability, detachment

16. Vishakha

  • Ruling Planet: Jupiter (Guru)
  • Symbol: Triumphal Archway
  • Deity: Indra and Agni (Indra-Agni)
  • Attributes: Purposefulness, ambition, achievement, duality, potential ruthlessness

17. Anuradha

  • Ruling Planet: Saturn (Shani)
  • Symbol: Lotus Flower
  • Deity: Mitra (god of friendship and devotion)
  • Attributes: Friendship, group work, devotion, worship

18. Jyestha

  • Ruling Planet: Mercury (Budha)
  • Symbol: Circular Earring or Talisman
  • Deity: Indra (king of the gods)
  • Attributes: Seniority, protection, power potential, illusion, secrecy

19. Mula

  • Ruling Planet: Ketu (South Node of the Moon)
  • Symbol: Bunch of Roots
  • Deity: Nritti (goddess of destruction and dissolution)
  • Attributes: Rooting out the hidden, going to the core, endings, destruction

20. Purva Ashadha

  • Ruling Planet: Venus (Shukra)
  • Symbol: Winnowing fan or Elephant Tusk
  • Deity: Apas (waters)
  • Attributes: Invincibility, conquest, purification, cleansing through struggle

21. Uttara Ashadha

  • Ruling Planet: Sun (Surya)
  • Symbol: Elephant Tusk or Bed
  • Deity: Vishvedevas (group of universal gods)
  • Attributes: Unconquerable strength, spiritual victory, lasting achievements

22. Shravana

  • Ruling Planet: Moon (Chandra)
  • Symbol: Ear
  • Deity: Vishnu (the preserver)
  • Attributes: Listening, learning, knowledge, connection, wide outreach

23. Dhanishtha

  • Ruling Planet: Mars (Mangala)
  • Symbol: Drum or Flute
  • Deity: Vasus (group of 8 elemental deities)
  • Attributes: Wealth, abundance, rhythm, music, fame

24. Satabhisha

  • Ruling Planet: Rahu (North Node of the Moon)
  • Symbol: Empty Circle
  • Deity: Varuna (god of cosmic waters and law)
  • Attributes: Healing, vastness, secrets, the hidden, potential for misfortune

25. Purva Bhadrapada

  • Ruling Planet: Jupiter (Guru)
  • Symbol: Two-Faced Man, Sword, or Funeral Cot
  • Deity: Aja Ekapat (fierce one-footed fire god)
  • Attributes: Lightning, transformation through fire, austerity, asceticism

26. Uttara Bhadrapada

  • Ruling Planet: Saturn (Shani)
  • Symbol: Back Legs of Funeral Cot, Twins, or Snake in the Water
  • Deity: Ahirbudhnya (serpent of the deep)
  • Attributes: Connection to depths and ancestors, calmness, gentleness

27. Revati

  • Ruling Planet: Mercury (Budha)
  • Symbol: Fish or Drum
  • Deity: Pushan (nourisher, guide of souls)
  • Attributes: Prosperity, abundance, vastness, nurturance, protection

Read More : How to Choose the Right Nakshatra Gemstone

Beyond the Basics

It’s important to remember that each Nakshatra is further divided into four ‘padas’ or quarters, each possessing its own refinements and nuances. These padas bring greater depth and specificity to astrological analysis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *